bridgwater Guy Fawks Carnival Logo


Carnival 2020 - 6pm Saturday 7th November

Aquarius Studio Cup


Inscribed: – The Aquarius Studio Cup

The Aquarius Studio Cup was given by Keith Openshaw of Middlezoy,  photographer for Bridgwater Carnival Procession and Concerts, who was also one of the first to video the procession.

When the cup was first awarded Mr Openshaw was asked to provide his own  judges and he presented the winner with the cup and a free colour photograph.

Awarded for: – Procession – Best single or group of costumes – all classes.

Re-awarded in 2002 for – Procession – Best Costume – Mounted entries. In 2017 this will be amended to Best Costume & Make Up or Mask.

This cup was presented in 1975.

List of Winners:
1976The Golliwog Floral DanceJohn Burland – Pack Horse C.C., Mark
1977Plaktron of AqualantisMarketeers C.C., Bridgwater
1978Temple Dancers of ThailandGrenadiers C.C., Bridgwater
1979Children of the TowerWaterside C.C., Midsomer Norton
1980Holiday on IceWills C.C., Bridgwater
1981Flash GordonWills C.C., Bridgwater
1982Land of Make BelieveMarketeers C.C., Bridgwater
1983The Battle of BlenheimBohemians C.C., Bridgwater
1984Moods of PierrotHillview J.C.C., Burnham-on-Sea
1985Pearlies in ColourVagabonds C.C., Bridgwater
1986Caribbean ShowtimeRamblers C.C., Bridgwater
1987Oriental MagicRamblers C.C., Bridgwater
1988Rhythm and GlitterPegasus C.C., Wookey
1989The King and IKing William C.C., Glastonbury
1990Chinese CalendarBohemians C.C., Bridgwater
1991The Story of ChessWills C.C., Bridgwater
1992Venetian MasqueradeWindwhistle C.C., Weston-Super-Mare
1993Mexicano CarnivalGriffens C.C., Bridgwater
1994Stormtroopers 2020Griffens C.C., Bridgwater
1995Silverball ManiaWills C.C., Bridgwater
1996Twilight CaféWills C.C., Bridgwater
1997Showbiz SpectacularHuckyduck C.C., Coleford
1998Beauty and the BeastWills C.C., Bridgwater
1999Sun Nee Fie LoWills C.C., Bridgwater
2000Oh No it isn’tMarketeers C.C., Bridgwater
2001Next Stop ClowntownMarketeers C.C., Bridgwater
2002FireworksGremlins C.C., Bridgwater
2003Les MiserablésWills C.C., Bridgwater
2004Heyoka (Shamanic Warrior)Masqueraders C.C., Meare
2005HalloweenWills C.C., Bridgwater
2006Valhalla RockWills C.C., Bridgwater
2007TenochtitlanPentathlon C.C., North Petherton
2008AmadeusWills C.C., Bridgwater
2009JoustGremlins C.C., Bridgwater
2010Geppetto’s WorkshopHarlequin C.C., Ilminster
2011Overthrow of the TsarPentathlon C.C., North Petherton
2012“Race Time” Starlight ExpressGemini C.C., Ilminster
2013Jeff Wayne’s War of the WorldsHuckyduck C.C., Coleford
2014 =Brunels Kingdom – The ShipyardGremlins C.C., Bridgwater
2014 =In Flanders FieldsHuckyduck C.C., Coleford
2015What Lies BeneathPentathlon C.C., North Petherton
2016The Great Fire of LondonHuckyduck C.C., Coleford
2017The Flying DutchmanHuckyduck C.C., Coleford
2018Day of the DeadPentathlon C.C., North Petherton
2019Curse of the KrakenGremlins C.C., Bridgwater