bridgwater Guy Fawks Carnival Logo


Carnival 2020 - 6pm Saturday 7th November

Arthur Rainey Cup


Inscribed: – Arthur Rainey Memorial Cup. Bridgwater Carnival Concerts.

Arthur Rainey was the owner of Starkey Knight and Ford Brewery.

Awarded for: – Concert – Comedy Act.

This cup was Presented in 1965 for the best comedy front of curtain act.

In 2000 it was re-awarded for best comedy from any concert act.

List of Winners:
1965Vagabonds Old BoysMiss Bridgwater
1966Golden Lion Old BoysThe Tableaux Game
1967Golden Lion Old BoysSir Harry Halfadolly and his Halle Hotshots
1968Vagabonds Old BoysA Night to Remember
1969Vagabonds Old BoysThe Forgotten Few
1970Vagabonds Old BoysCarnival Games
1971Vagabonds Old BoysSilver Cord
1972Vagabonds Old BoysSwan Lake
1973POPS C.C.After the Night Before
1974Vagabonds Old BoysChedzoy Church Fete
1975Vagabonds Old BoysZeigfield Foolies
1976Vagabonds Old BoysLight Fantastic
1977Doris AllenDolly’s Navy Lark
1978=SMC Squib C.C.The Squiblets
1978=Live Larks C.C.Fairy Elephants Frolics
1979The Swinging BallcocksIf I were not upon the Stage
1980The Swinging BallcocksCouncil Cabaret
1981Keith Robinson & Colin Pople 
1982Keith Robinson & Colin Pople 
1983Keith Robinson & Colin Pople 
1984Not Awarded 
1985Not Awarded 
1986Bubble And Squeak 
1987David Farrance 
1988The Amazing Allcocks 
1989Not Awarded 
1990The Management 
1991Mike Hancock & Trevor Gannicott 
1992Mike Hancock & Trevor Gannicott 
1993Not Awarded 
1994Not Awarded 
1995Not Awarded 
1996The Mob 
1997Not Awarded 
1999Rachel & Co. 
2001Surfs UpGriffens C.C.
2002Medieval PageantGriffens C.C.
2003Sarah & Jimmy Melmoth 
2004HellraisersGriffens C.C.
2005Bridgwater Manchips 
2006Bridgwater Manchips 
2007Midnight MasqueradeGremlins C.C.
2008Dave Darling (Steve Lukins) 
2009Pharoah’s PartyRamblers C.C.
2010Dave Darling 
2011Jockomo FeenaGremlins C.C.
2012Open SesameRamblers C.C.
2013Swarm ForceRamblers C.C.
2014Kevin Cripwell 
2015Kevin Cripwell 
2016PantomaniaGriffens C.C.
2017Kevin Cripwell 
2018Brandon Filler 
2019Kevin Cripwell