bridgwater Guy Fawks Carnival Logo


Carnival 2022 - 6pm Saturday 5th November See below!

Jerry Rossiter Cup


Inscribed: – Jerry Rossiter Cup. For Single Masqueraders. 1964.

Awarded for: – Procession – Single Masquerader on Foot – Bridgwater only.

There was an amendment in 2000 that entrants in this class must obtain 4th position or above to be awarded this cup.

List of Winners:
1964 Old time Harvester E. Richards, Bridgwater
1965 Cowman of the Past E. Richards, Bridgwater
1966 West Sedgemoor Withy Cutter E. Richards, Bridgwater
1967 Italian Gypsy E. Richards, Bridgwater
1968 Heading for the Town Bridge E. Richards, Bridgwater
1969 Rocky’s Last Team E. Richards, Bridgwater
1970 Egyptian Regiment Jack White, Bridgwater
1971 British Army 1914 – 1918 Jack White, Bridgwater
1972 Bridgwater Fisherman Mervyn Richards, Bridgwater
1973 Not Awarded  
1974 Not Awarded  
1975= Miss Inflation 1975 Miss Jayne Mansfield, Bridgwater
1975= Old Age Pensioners Backhander 1921 * E. Richards, Bridgwater
1976 Dar Tagnian R. Baker, Bridgwater
1977 The Original Buttercup Joe Mervyn Richards, Bridgwater
1978 John Travolta Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1979 Fred Astaire Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1980 Carmen Miranda Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1981 Lady of Spain Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1982 Elvis Presley Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1983 Shirley Temple Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1984 Liberace Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1985 Danny la Rue Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1986 Gary Glitter Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1987 Gene Kelly Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1988 El Cordobes Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1989 Can Can Doug Letherby, Bridgwater
1990 Not Awarded  
1991 Not Awarded  
1992 Not Awarded  
1993 Not Awarded  
1994 Nun Philip Hutter, Bridgwater
1995 Captain Coach Paul Cotterell, Bridgwater
1996 George (Hofmeister Bear) Trevor Spriggs, Bridgwater
1997 Man in Black Trevor Spriggs, Bridgwater
1998 Berti Bassett Trevor Spriggs, Bridgwater
1999 Neptune Trevor Spriggs, Bridgwater
2000 Not Awarded  
2001 Not Awarded  
2002 Not Awarded  
2003 Not Awarded  
2004 Not Awarded  
2005 Not Awarded  
2006 Not Awarded  
2007 Not Awarded  
2008 Not Awarded  
2009 Not Awarded  
2010 Not Awarded  
2011 Not Awarded  
2012 Not Awarded  
2013 Fetch The Bone Rex Academy of Carnival, Bridgwater
2014 La Phantom De La Chandelier Metamorphosis CC, Bridgwater
2015 Not Awarded  
2016 Not Awarded  
2017 Not Awarded  
2018 Not Awarded  
2019 Not Awarded  

* 1975 An extract from the committee minutes of 1975 states:- Mr E. Richards refuses to accept half share of the Jerry Rossiter Cup as he contests that the other winner was under adult age. The committee felt nothing further could be done in this matter at this stage and the award still held firm despite Mr Richards feelings.